Author Topic: Video Blogging advice?  (Read 1095 times)

Offline jammindude

Video Blogging advice?
« on: July 14, 2013, 06:19:22 PM »
I've NEVER done this before.

I've been an electrician since I was 18, although I've taken several "breaks" from time to time to get away from it....I always come back for the $$$.

New things that I've tried to take on from time to time...I briefly had a "voice over" business.   I got a couple of gigs, and even broke even from my original investment...but began to discover that it was going to require MORE investment and much travelling (schmoozing with others at conventions) to find the type of work that led to quitting your day job...so I gave it up.   

I fell in love with wine about 4 years ago, and toyed with the idea of studying that...and maybe even going to school to become a sommelier...but to get that deep into it, you really have to have been around it your whole life.   It's just too late in life to begin something like that from scratch.   I still love wine, but I couldn't make a living in the wine industry until I was too old to know what wine was.   ::)

This led me back to the old phrase..."write what you know"

I have been a rock music GEEK (and I mean REAL geek....I was to music what that weird kid you knew in HS was to D&D) since I was 10 years old.   I made weekly "Top 10 lists" for my elementary school and passed them out at recess.  (it was about the only popular thing I ever did in elementary school)

My E-tablet allows me to film and immediately upload videos to YouTube...and I'm toying with the idea of just sticking to what I know.   I might to album reviews...but really, I wouldn't mind doing editorial type stuff.    Picking a subject (like "what the Seattle scene was REALLY like...from someone who was there"...or my own commentary on the loudness war) and just doing a quick 5-10 minutes about all the music I know and love once a week.