Author Topic: A question for the drummers  (Read 1931 times)

Offline Quadrochosis

• DTF.org Alumni
  • We Are Not Alone
A question for the drummers
« on: September 24, 2009, 07:37:01 PM »
I also posted this on MP.com in case you happened to see it there too and were like 'wtf?' But I figured there were some here that don't visit there and wanted to ask DTF too.

So I am thinking about picking up drums and learning to play. The only problem is I am 18, and have never played before. Am I too old to start? I really love music and play guitar and some piano so I am not completely new to musical instruments but I have been playing guitar for quite a few years already and I feel like I won't be able to learn the drums as easily or well. I am afraid it may be a waste of time/money/effort. SO does anyone have any similar stories or words of advice?

And if you think I should pursue it, does anyone have any ideas of how to start looking for a kit and what to go with and appropriate price ranges and stuff? Thanks in advance, I appreciate it

Quadro
space cadet, pull out.
The only thing I enjoy more than Frengers is pleasing myself anally via the prostate.
"From my butt, I can see your house..."

Offline ZachyDou

• Keyboard wizard in training
  • "Haha... Yeah..."
Re: A question for the drummers
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 09:43:16 PM »
Ive been playing piano for almost 10 years now, and ive been teaching myself guitar for a little bit, and i personally dont think theres an age limit to picking up an instrument. In fact, my dad picked up the alto sax a few years ago when he was around 40. A new instrument always takes massive amounts of practice though; make sure you have the time to make a proper dedication or you wont end up getting anywhere.

Offline setrataeso

• Setlist Archivist
  • DTF.org Member
  • I probably don't like you
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 09:50:35 PM »
I started playing drums 5-6 years ago, and have been playing since.