Author Topic: Why are DT fans so critical?  (Read 2372 times)

Offline The Great Ape

Why are DT fans so critical?
« on: September 08, 2023, 06:42:12 AM »
I have been listening to DT for about 20 years, but I haven't ever engaged much in the online community about their music until recently. And oh boy, people have some opinions. I have come across a couple people saying something like "nobody hates DT more than their fans". Why?

Yeah, some of their stuff is not my favorite thing to listen to either, but I can't imagine any of their music being worthy of so much negative sentiment. Give them a break! Most bands experience lineup changes. Most bands try different things as their career progresses. James is getting older. I could go on and on.

Regardless of everything, this is my favorite band. My taste has changed a lot in the last 20 years (I'm sure yours has, too). I have developed appreciation for metal, synthwave, bluegrass, light rock, folk, etc, but DT is the only music that I have never stopped listening to. I always come back to them.

I can't understand the criticism, they have made so much good music and (as far as I know) are genuinely good men/fathers/husbands. We're fortunate to have them.
"You know what? Enough is enough. There's enough hate in this world; there's enough frickin' negativity in this world" - James LaBrie

Offline Stadler

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Pointing out the "unfunny" since 2014!
Re: Why are DT fans so critical?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2023, 06:51:46 AM »
This isn't unique to Dream Theater.  Despite them selling out stadia, ask certain Genesis fans about certain eras of their music and you're bound to get an earful.  Despite them being in the band multiples longer, ask certain Kiss fans about certain members of the band.

Offline Trav86

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2023, 07:38:30 AM »