Author Topic: JP, Tosin, and Devin on Rick Beato  (Read 2378 times)

Offline Skeever

JP, Tosin, and Devin on Rick Beato
« on: July 26, 2023, 07:53:36 AM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoDFEYKUB7g&t=4073s

Extremely entertaining conversation for guitar nerds. Amazing to learn that pretty much all these guys were "self taught".

Offline goo-goo

Re: JP, Tosin, and Devin on Rick Beato
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2023, 09:38:51 AM »
I saw it yesterday. Devin never ceases to amaze me. I hope Rick brings Devin back because he composes and views the guitar on a very different perspective than JP and Tosin. My favorite part was when Devin talks about synesthesia and how he brought Mike Keneally to aid with translating that into actual notes to an orchestra (guessing it was for Empath).

Offline TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Arthritic Metal Horns
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2023, 12:40:20 PM »
I watched the whole thing yesterday. I usually think these kinds of things can be quite cheesy, but I couldn't shut it off.

To hear Rick Beato say he loves Metal...does he even ever feature metal on his channel?
would have thought the same thing but seeing the OP was TAC i immediately thought Maiden or DT related
Winger Theater Forums........or WTF.  ;D
TAC got a higher score than me in the electronic round? Honestly, can I just drop out now? :lol

Offline HOF

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2023, 02:30:39 PM »
I watched the whole thing yesterday. I usually think these kinds of things can be quite cheesy, but I couldn't shut it off.

To hear Rick Beato say he loves Metal...does he even ever feature metal on his channel?

He’s done a few metal “What Makes This Song Great” episodes (Pantera, Metallica, Karnivool, Deftones, Tool, Polyphia).

He played in metal bands and produced a number of nu-metal type acts as well, so that’s a big part of his background.

Offline TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Arthritic Metal Horns
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2023, 02:45:04 PM »