Author Topic: Playing DT's unison parts  (Read 770 times)

Offline Peter1960

Playing DT's unison parts
« on: July 08, 2023, 04:58:54 AM »
I am a guitarist and keyboard player, although a million miles away from JP and JR in terms of ability. I occasionally test myself by trying to play some of DT’s unison parts (I have sheet music for most of the albums) but generally give up after a while, due to lack of patience, lack of willpower, or simply lack of skill !

One piece that  have always found intriguing is the unison part in Octavarium from 16:46 – 17:30. It is super fast with constant changes in time signature.

Frank Zappa once credited Steve Vai with playing “impossible guitar parts” on his albums – for me, the above unison section is an impossible guitar part and an impossible keyboard part !

Has anyone out there managed to nail this section ? How did you do it – did you slow the piece down and learn it a few bars at a time, and then increase the tempo ? How long did this take ?

Another tricky part (for me) is the unison part in Metropolis Part 1 from 07:23-8:00. it is not as hard to play as the Octavarium part but there are just so many notes !

If there are any skilled musicians on this forum that have managed to replicate some of DT’s unison parts (particularly those above) I would be interested to know how you did it, as I cannot ask JP or JR myself !

Thanks

Offline Schurftkut

Re: Playing DT's unison parts
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2023, 06:58:01 AM »
start slow, learn per fingering position and build it piece by piece. then start pushing for tempo

Offline WilliamMunny

• Generation Mixtape
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2023, 06:14:02 PM »
Yeah, I mean, without redirecting your entire practice routine, I think there's only one way to learn anything–slowly and piece by piece.

I mean, I hate to be the one to tell you, but it's way less about skill, and way more about patience and will-power.