4 (6.7%)
Pale Communion
12 (20%)
Sorceress
4 (6.7%)
In Cauda Venenum
9 (15%)

Total Members Voted: 60

Author Topic: Opeth: The Clean Vocals Album Poll  (Read 2822 times)

Offline geeeemo

Re: Opeth: The Clean Vocals Album Poll
« Reply #35 on: January 06, 2023, 03:28:47 PM »

When I saw them recently I thought the balance between all of their elements was perfect. I think their current style with a touch of death metal (including vocals) would be the sweet spot for me.

Totally This.

I am Just getting into Opeth. It clicked for me about 6 weeks ago when watching Garden of the Titans. What a great mix of growl/no growl. I am not much into growling, but their sound is awesome. And MA's voice is enchanting....Frankly so is he...
I am just getting acquainted and starting with probably more NewPeth, but I have to say. Ghost Reveries is Really growing on me.
I voted for Sorceress, because right now I really dig several songs on it. It could very well change once more time has passed.
I do get bored with some of the slow stuff, I need energy in my music. But, all in all, I have listened to them pretty much exclusively since the switch went off.

Offline gazinwales

« Reply #36 on: January 06, 2023, 03:39:00 PM »
I voted for 'In Cauda Venenum' which for me is the best of their worst.
Everything since Watershed has been downhill for Opeth, they dropped the growls and lost their might.

Offline Elite

• The 'other' Rich
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • also, a tin teardrop
« Reply #37 on: January 07, 2023, 02:29:13 AM »
I really don’t understand how Damnation is absolutely dominating this poll. It’s easily the most boring and samet album out of the bunch. The majority of the songs isn’t even that good (please, stop ever playing Windowpane, that absolute snoozefest, live). Is this nostalgia speaking because it was released alongside Deliverance?

I voted Heritage, but could have gone with Pale Communion too.