Author Topic: Help me name my unborn son!  (Read 2552 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Re: Help me name my unborn son!
« Reply #35 on: July 09, 2020, 01:05:00 AM »
Bosk
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline Kotowboy

• Yes THAT Kotowboy.
  • DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #36 on: July 09, 2020, 01:41:30 AM »
My fourth son is due in October and we're struggling to come up with name ideas. I'd love some suggestions!

My other three sons are Max, Ezra, and Eli. We'd like something that fits well with their names. Clearly we like short names and classic or old fashioned names.

I should also add that we're from Minnesota and have German and Scandinavian heritage. Not that we need names that fit those molds, but we're unlikely to choose a Hispanic or Asian name.

Any suggestions?

One of my nephews is called Eli and his siblings are called Isaac, Issa, Nuri and i forgot the last one  :biggrin:

Offline TempusVox

• Descendant of Primus
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #37 on: July 09, 2020, 05:53:18 AM »
Rasmus
You don't HAVE a soul.You ARE a soul.You HAVE a body.
"I came here to drink milk and kick ass; and I just finished my milk."

Offline Cintus Supremus

« Reply #38 on: July 09, 2020, 01:08:09 PM »
I think a name should also sounds well with the surname. A name in itself might be nice, but roll off the tongue awkardly when pronounced along with the surname.

I agree with MirrorMask about considering how it sounds with the last name. The rhythm of a name is an important consideration.

A few naming rules we tried to follow in our family:

- Avoid popular names – Your kid will forever go by "John W." while in school because there's five other kids with that name.
- Avoid names that end in "W" (per your last name) – The names blur together and people will often have to be corrected.