Author Topic: How good of a drummer was Ringo Starr?  (Read 3357 times)

Offline KevShmev

• EZBoard Elder
How good of a drummer was Ringo Starr?
« on: October 06, 2019, 09:37:16 AM »
I fall in the middle of what always seem to be the two extremes.

A lot of Beatles fans talk him up like he was one of the greatest ever, which I find laughable.

And a lot of people laugh him off, like he was pure crap.

I think he is definitely one of the luckiest people ever, landing in a band with two of the greatest songwriters ever (Lennon and McCartney), and I think he was a solid drummer who did some cool things at the time that you had never really heard in popular music prior, but that is about where it ends for me.

Offline Cool Chris

• DTF.org Alumni
Re: How good of a drummer was Ringo Starr?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2019, 11:40:37 AM »
I am not good at assessing musicians since my knowledge of music doesn't extend beyond "yeah, this sounds cool to me!" but I think your summary is fair and reasonable.

I don't like to consider musicians "lucky." Luck has so much to do with everyone's life. I was lucky that I knew a guy who needed and extra hand with his company and he was willing to hire me. But I still have to go in every single day and do the work. Musicians are no different. Sure Ringo is luckier than most musicians. But he still had to go in and do the work. I dunno... it's a me issue.
"Nostalgia is just the ability to forget the things that sucked" - Nelson DeMille, 'Up Country'

Offline Kwyjibo

• Worse troll than Blabbermouth
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2019, 11:53:31 AM »
"yeah, this sounds cool to me!"

And at the end of the day, that's all that matters. If you don't touch the peoples' heart or soul or whatever it doesn't matter if you're "good".
Must've been Kwyji sending all the wrong songs.   ;D

Offline MirrorMask

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2019, 12:08:11 PM »