Poll

In your opinion is Randy Rhoads overrated?

Yes
No

Author Topic: Randy Rhoads -- Overrated?  (Read 4215 times)

Online pg1067

Randy Rhoads -- Overrated?
« on: June 12, 2019, 10:59:43 AM »
I've wondered about this for a while.

Randy Rhoads died right around the time I was getting into rock music, so I was never an active fan while he was alive.  When I started getting into heavy music, I heard so much about how great Rhoads was and, as a 14/15 year old, I generally believed what I was told.  By the time I was 16 (about a year and a half after Rhoads died), I owned Bilzzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman.  I had also bought Metal Health by Quiet Riot and started hearing about how Rhoads had been in the band and that they had a couple albums that had only been released in Japan.  By the time Condition Critical was released, I had pretty much lost interest in QR, so I had no real interest in trying to find the two albums with Rhoads.

I started playing bass in 1986 and started buying magazines like Guitar for the Practicing Musician and Guitar Player.  Those magazines regularly featured Randy Rhoads and transcriptions of songs from Blizzard and Diary (and, later, the live version of Suicide Solution on Tribute, which everyone seemed to lose their shit over).

I recall Rhoads winning a "greatest guitarist of all time" poll in Guitar for the Practicing Musician, and he is routinely at or near the top of lists of all time great guitarists (or metal guitarists).  I'm a member of a group on Facebook where people routinely faun over him and proclaim him to be the greatest ever.

While I think that Blizzard and Diary are great albums, and it's obvious that Rhoads was talented, I've always felt like he was overrated.  I've never heard the first two QR albums in full, but the bits and pieces I did hear weren't good, so the entirety of his recorded output as far as most people are concerned is Blizzard and Diary (plus a handful of live recordings).