Author Topic: Building a PC for the first time  (Read 4508 times)

Offline Chino

• Be excellent to each other.
  • DT.net Veteran
Building a PC for the first time
« on: April 01, 2019, 06:48:14 AM »
I need a new home computer as my laptop from 2012 looks like it has finally had it. I want to go with a tower this time for my home office. I don't need a lot of horsepower, but I would still like 16GB of ram. I've never built a PC before and don't really know what I'm doing. There are sooo many options out there for brands and components.

As far as what I need the thing to do, there isn't a whole lot.
- Handle my 3d printing slicing software
- Play classic games like RCT, Empire Earth, Half Life 2, Vice City, etc..
- Excel spreadsheets
- Photoshop

My laptop handled everything above just fine, though sometimes large slicing jobs in Cura (3d printing stuff) would cripple the machine for a 5-10 minutes. I'd like to keep the build in the $600 range if I can, but would be willing to go up to $700. I'm not factoring the price of a keyboard, mouse, and external devices into that budget. Like I said, I don't need a ton of horsepower. I won't be doing an real gaming or anything like that with this machine. I don't need a massive HD as I will be backing everything up on a 2TB external anyway. I would like it to look really cool in my office though. If for around $700 I could have something that could play a game like GTAV, I wouldn't hate it, but that's not a priority. That'd just be a nice to have.

The link below has a machine that my computer friend suggested I build based on my needs and budget.
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/xjrw29

Curious what your thoughts on the above would be? If you wanted to try your hand at building one out for under $700 with your preferences, it'd be appreciated.

Offline Bolsters

• Lost Boy
  • DTF.org Member
  • What a hell of a day to embrace disorder
Re: Building a PC for the first time
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2019, 07:44:41 AM »