Author Topic: The TAC Classic Rock Radio Listening Party  (Read 5399 times)

Online TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Arthritic Metal Horns
The TAC Classic Rock Radio Listening Party
« on: February 08, 2019, 07:57:31 PM »
So, when driving to work, I really don't listen to a ton of music. I actually listen to sports talk radio quite a bit. But when my ears need a break from it, I usually pull up a music radio station to see what's playing.

I tune into 94 WHJY in Providence. I have been listening to HJY since 1981, and it is where I learned of so many bands that I love today.

So every now and then when I flip over, it'll be a song that I've heard a million times, like Led Zeppelin, and sometimes it stops me in my tracks. Like I can totally remember listening to these songs as a wide eyed kid.

This happened to me yesterday and I thought about making a thread about it. Then it happened again today.

So my plan is every other day or so, or as needed, I thought I'd post what I've heard and how I felt about it. Kind of like Kev's Song Of The Day Threads.

Feel free to comment, give your own accounts, or whatever...

Yesterday these 2 songs transported me back in time:

AC/DC-Back In Black

It's criminal how little I listen to this album, considering its influence on a 12 y/o TAC. But the title track stands out above all. I love its arrangement. Guitar solo, additional breakdown, and the amazing outro. Angus Young is amazing. To me, it's his finest work.

If I had one vote for the Greatest Hard Rock song of all time, my vote goes to Back In Black.

Pearl Jam-Jeremy

I was already out of college when Pearl Jam's debut album came out. I had a copy of Ten, and while I thought it was OK, on the whole, Pearl Jam was a just miss for me. Still, Pearl Jam might just be the band I respect the most that I'm not into. They do have a number of songs I like, but at my core, I'm a metal guy.