Author Topic: RIP Chef Anthony Bourdain  (Read 3516 times)

Online lonestar

• DTF Executive Chef
  • Official DTF Tour Guide
  • Silly Hatted Knife Chucker
Re: RIP Chef Anthony Bourdain
« Reply #35 on: June 12, 2018, 12:46:36 PM »
I'll give mine. I was in Hawaii, and was travelling up the east coast of Oahu towards the pipeline, and we past this place that looked like a broken down shack, with a massive sign on top that said Waiahole Poi Factory. In front of the place was a table with four massive Samoan construction workers eating. If you want the goods, you go to where the manual laborers go, that's what I've learned from years of eating Mexican food. We stopped and had whatever the lady recommended. Now honestly, as a chef I looked into the "kitchen" and saw enough in thirty seconds to shut it down for health violations, but that only intrigued me more. Food was all the traditional stuff, kalua pig, lau lau, beef luau, lomi salmon. I think we hit the place three more times on that trip, and a number of times on the next one as well.

Offline Cool Chris

• DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #36 on: June 12, 2018, 02:15:49 PM »
Disclaimer: I am not a foodie or a gourmet at all, and am generally as happy with a grilled cheese sandwich as I would be with a <insert something expensive and fancy here because I can't think of what a good example would be>.

I've been to Hawaii several times due to Mrs. Cool Chris having family there, and I must say, the food has never impressed me much. The family even crafted a full on luau for our honeymoon. I'm just not into the traditional foods lonestar mentions.
"Nostalgia is just the ability to forget the things that sucked" - Nelson DeMille, 'Up Country'

Offline TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Arthritic Metal Horns
« Reply #37 on: June 12, 2018, 02:22:27 PM »
I'm way to fussy to attempt to eat something indigenous.
would have thought the same thing but seeing the OP was TAC i immediately thought Maiden or DT related