Author Topic: What is your job and do you like it?  (Read 8539 times)

Offline frogprog

Re: What is your job and do you like it?
« Reply #105 on: December 17, 2017, 10:26:19 AM »
I seem to be a minority here. I work with my hands (and head!) As a finish carpenter/ site superintendent for a commercial construction company. With 32 years in, I still love my trade but it has taken a toll on my body. Been with a great group for the last 5 years and that makes all the difference in the world!

Offline MetalJunkie

• EZBoard Elder
« Reply #106 on: December 20, 2017, 11:11:16 PM »
I'm a retailes sales consultant for AT&T. Fancy words for "in-store sales."

Do I like my job? Typically. My answer is different every day of the week. I live in a small town that I refer to as "The Florida of Oklahoma." It's a slightly upscale town with a sizable elderly population. With that being said, a lot of our walk-ins are crypt-keeper looking people who can't figure out how to access voicemail on their flip phone, forgot the Facebook password on the phone they shouldn't have, or have a gross misunderstanding of their bill (and of course it's our fault). The rest of the walk-ins are people who just have questions, want to upgrade their phone, or want new service.

It's my job to turn every interaction (all the way down to SIM swaps and bill payments) into a sales opportunity. Who do they have for TV, and for internet? Those are the biggest money-makers, and, as a result, our biggest goals.

I'm good at sales, but better at troubleshooting. I've been at my job long enough to know everything about everything, for the most part, so co-workers will come to me with their questions, and I like that.

Also, the money is really good.
Listen! Do you smell something?

Offline bout to crash

• Admiral Jackbar
  • DT.net Veteran
  • Instant Erection!
« Reply #107 on: December 21, 2017, 06:19:18 PM »