Author Topic: How much the tech skill in DT is important for you?  (Read 5251 times)

Offline MirrorMask

How much the tech skill in DT is important for you?
« on: March 21, 2017, 01:47:20 PM »
I had an idea for this topic for some time, but this gave me the suggestion to open a thread about it:

It's funny, my earliest thought about DT - based on comments I'd read before actually hearing the music - was that DT is not a band for "normal" people like me, only for musicians or nerds with a high IQ :laugh:

So, question: how many of you like DT first and foremost for their musical ability, and how many are instead in "just" because they happen to like the songs and the style of the band regardless of the actual skills required to craft said songs?

I'm not a musician, I don't consider myself ignorant of music, but surely I am not able to grasp things a musician can. I took singing lessons for several years, and I don't even remember when I was briefly introduced to piano; I know which are the notes on a keyboard, and I have a good ear to recreate easy melodies and I can play Beethoven's Ode to Joy on a keyboard, and that's it. Discussions about drum fills and chord progressions on guitars are completely alien to me. I "know" and recognize that the guys in DT are immensely skilled, but what I don't know is if a song, a solo or a melody that I happen to like requires a godlike skill of the instrument, or it's actually very easy.