Author Topic: 2017, February 4th - Milan, Italy  (Read 4875 times)

Offline MirrorMask

2017, February 4th - Milan, Italy
« on: February 05, 2017, 04:28:35 AM »
So, any other fellow countrymen attended this show? I did, and it was awesome!  :metal

Wall of text incoming, I have to relive the wonderful memories of last night!!!! and this seems the appropriate place to do it  :biggrin:

The band was at the top of their form, James included. I'm not a musician so I can't be educated about what the other guys musically are doing but DAMN, seeing them go through effortlessly through the heavy, the melodic and the complex parts is always something to behold! And James last night was on fire, he was even a better frontman than usual. Can't exactly pinpoint what it was, but something in his movements, the way he was handling the stage and talking to the audience was just... right and fitting, for lack of a better term. He kept the show going really well, even doing little but useful things like coming out to sing at the climax of the instrumental sections rather than at the last possible second. For example, for Pull Me Under he didn't wait until his part to come out, he did it when the song kicked in after the intro and saying "Here we go!!!!!"... simple but effective things like that.

He also sang all the songs remarkably well, he never lost power; we all know and heard how when he goes high, he kinda loses quality and clarity on the pronunciation and somehow "slurs" the line, but that's the "worst" that happened, at times he was just perfect and in the mellow, soft moments he was enchanting as only he can do. I was always a big fan of James, and this evening only cemented my admiration for him!!!  :metal

Stage set was cool as well, no longer the screens but a panel of squares behind them that would get illuminated in an evocative way, fitting the mood of the song. The big screen of the Along for the Ride tour was awesome, but also this stage was great.