Author Topic: Some Behind the Scenes pictures from Progressive Nation 2009 / BL&SL era Tour.  (Read 1811 times)

Offline Gromit1710

I swear I had posted this back when it took place on this forum. But I could be mistaken, none of my usual emails were linked to an account here so I'm sure it was all just in my head  :lol

With another tour coming up, I'm reminded of this and thought I'd share with DTF.org

In a previous life, I was a live sound engineer specializing in running monitors and managing all things stage/pa related for a good sized midwestern sound company. I made a lot of friends and connections on that side of the industry during my time. I left town and begun a different life somewhere else (one that didn't involve 20 hour days, intense stress and punishing labor) when one of these people called me up out of the blue with an opportunity to cross something off my bucket list.

Work a Dream Theater Show.

He's also a DT fan and when the Progressive Nation 2009 tour came through his city and scheduled his venue for a show in Milwaukee, WI at The Riverside Theater... he called me right away.  All I had to do was fly to Milwaukee and I had a spot on the local stage crew as a PA tech. I don't think I'd even hung up the phone with him before I was buying a ticket.

Here are some of the pictures I took ^_^

Everything starts with trusses and cables. Trusses and cables...

Starting to look like something

No pictures during getting the PA together. Work had to come first. But once it was done and sound check was over, I have a few hours of down time to wander 'round and ogle at things. I didn't touch ANYTHING and maintained a respectful distance from their stuff.... well.. except put my foot up on JP's footrest. COME ON... HOW COULD YOU NOT??

JP's Rig - The amps and cabs you see on stage are just dummies. Those two boogies in back are doing all the work.

Not gonna lie... Yes, I stuck my foot up on it. >.> I'msorryJohnpleaseforgiveme!

JR's world