Author Topic: Insomnium  (Read 16199 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Re: Insomnium
« Reply #140 on: December 15, 2022, 08:49:08 AM »
Nothing better than to drive to work in a snowy landscape listening to Insomnium.
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

• DTF.org Member
« Reply #141 on: December 24, 2022, 01:28:47 PM »
Been listening alot to Winter's Gate. Man that's such an emotional album with the story and everything and also the sonic quality is superb. A part that sticks out is 3.27 in Pt.5 or I think 28.27 or something on the album version. That first chord riff is sooo beefy on the mix that my speaks and headphones cracks, I wonder if anyone else hears that? In a way it might be a mixing issue but I love it. Sounds so meaty.
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline Blind_FaithX

• I love music
« Reply #142 on: January 04, 2023, 09:12:04 PM »
Same feeling, White Christ has a poor melody with a few small highlights.. That sucks because not too long ago I was praising about how Insomnium never fails to deliver great music. Well this one is their first song in their entire discography with a poor melody IMO.

Anyway, I’m not familiar with the band Rotten Christ but hopefully it’s just the presence of their singer that changes the mood from what Insomnium usually does.

I still hope that the next album will reach their standard. I love the way they were heading to with Heart like a grave and Argent Moon. Plus many of my other favorite bands deceived me with their last releases (DT, PT, Pineapple Thief, PoS) so I’m counting on them not to do the same…
Funny how everything was Roses
When we held on to the Guns
Just because you're winnin'
Don't mean you're the lucky one

• DTF.org Member