Author Topic: Greatest metal guitar solo of all time?  (Read 12565 times)

Offline wolfking

• DTF.org Alumni
Greatest metal guitar solo of all time?
« on: May 17, 2015, 09:35:08 PM »
What does everything think the best metal guitar solo or solos of all time are?

I know it's a question that can't properly be answered and is totally subjective, but the other day when I was listening to Priest's Painkiller in the car, I was listening to Glen's razor sharp leads blasting through my right speaker and I thought to myself, "you know what, this could be the greatest heavy metal guitar solo of all time."  The precision, skill, execution and phrasing is just perfect.  Not sure it's the best, I just thought that at the time, but Tipton would surely have many solos in the best of all time category, he's incredible.

Also would love to get some different songs as being a guitarist myself, seeing if there's some I've missed out on that I need to hear.
Everyone else, except Wolfking is wrong.

Offline BlobVanDam

• Future Boy
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Transform and rock out!
Re: Greatest metal guitar solo of all time?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2015, 09:40:18 PM »
It's an impossible question to answer given how much a whole genre covers, and what you value in a solo.

But Bark at the Moon was the first to come to mind, so I'll throw that one out there. But then you can't mention Ozzy without mentioning Rhoads, so then Over the Mountain comes to mind.

Not sure they'd be the absolute best metal solos of all time, but if you were making a top list, they'd have to be on there somewhere, right? :metal
Only King could mis-spell a LETTER.
Yep. I think the only party in the MP/DT situation that hasn't moved on is DTF.

Offline wolfking

• DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2015, 09:44:01 PM »
I know the title is too harsh but that's what I'm looking for, things that spring to mind that have always impressed.  The idea can span over many genres really, melodic rock, AOR, prog etc.