Author Topic: What would you pay an editor to edit your Masters thesis?  (Read 1924 times)

Offline Ħ

What would you pay an editor to edit your Masters thesis?
« on: November 18, 2014, 02:09:34 PM »
Hey guys,

A lady wants me to edit her 170pg Master's thesis. I work as a writing tutor at my university and have experience in both writing and editing. I've worked with both grads and undergrads.

She wants me to name a price. I skimmed over the document to get a general sense of it. Looks easy.

So...what should I charge? I read some articles online which said that editors can go from $750-$1000 for Master's theses. I'm no professional though.
"All great works are prepared in the desert, including the redemption of the world. The precursors, the followers, the Master Himself, all obeyed or have to obey one and the same law. Prophets, apostles, preachers, martyrs, pioneers of knowledge, inspired artists in every art, ordinary men and the Man-God, all pay tribute to loneliness, to the life of silence, to the night." - A. G. Sertillanges

Offline MoraWintersoul

• Gloom Cookie
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • welcome to the wasteland
Re: What would you pay an editor to edit your Masters thesis?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 03:29:25 PM »
If you can trust these articles and you're not a professional at this, but have writing/editing experience, go on the low end but not lower than 750. That's what I would do. Obviously ask her what her range is, but doing something for a low price might send more people your way who want demanding work done for cheap.

edit: if I wanted my Masters thesis edited, I'd ask several people for quotes but I wouldn't try to haggle with an editor as they know what they're doing - that's why I'm hiring them. There are a lot more people who won't value a writer/editor's work though, so I just might be too reasonable for today's standards :lol

Don't try to BS her about Kevin Moore facts, she will obscure quote you in the face.