Author Topic: Sabaton  (Read 7515 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Re: Sabaton
« Reply #70 on: July 05, 2022, 12:29:06 PM »
Sabaton is one of those bands that as a Swede i've known about for ages, seen them live with Maiden but their music has never done much for me and i'm genuinely suprised how big that band has become but not because I don't think they deserve it but more kinda annoyed in a lighthearted way on how "simple" their music is to get and yet people are ALL over them. I think the fact that they sing about war and heroism strikes a special heart in people from any nation.

Hearing En Livstid I Krig with a roaring swedish crowd feels powerful I have to admit however I can't stop the thought of it being a bit too cheesy, atleast for me. I love cheese, don't get me wrong but it has to be the right kind of cheese.  :)

Would be cool to see their current live show though.

"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline cramx3

• Chillest of the chill
  • DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #71 on: July 05, 2022, 01:03:52 PM »
I wouldn't be surprised if the simplicity is the reason why they are popular.  People generally like simple "pop" music.  I don't think Sabaton is pop, but their music is straight forward and usually pretty catchy.  My gf and I are going to their final NA show of the tour in the fall in NYC with Epica opening.  Should be awesome.

Offline gazinwales

« Reply #72 on: July 05, 2022, 01:13:41 PM »
Sabaton are 'popular' for two reasons:
1. They connect with people with their lyrics, telling stories about war and heroes that many can associate with
whether it be on a patriotic or personnel level.
2. Their live show, highly entertaining, energetic and fun.

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
« Reply #73 on: July 05, 2022, 03:54:27 PM »