Author Topic: Remember Dimebag...  (Read 3915 times)

Online wolfking

• DTF.org Alumni
Re: Remember Dimebag...
« Reply #35 on: December 08, 2014, 02:22:44 PM »
Still remember when this happened, I was upset and felt sick for days.  Can't believe it's been 10 years either, crazy.

RIP Dimebag.
Everyone else, except Wolfking is wrong.

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
« Reply #36 on: December 08, 2014, 03:01:05 PM »
Crazy that John Lennon was assassinated at the exact same date as Dimebag.

"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline Accelerando

• Disciple of Mark Tremonti
« Reply #37 on: December 08, 2014, 03:04:35 PM »
Man, I was in high school and people were talking about it that day. Even people who didn't listen to metal were disturbed by it. My history teacher, who also taught music, talked about it in class. You hear about violence in music, whether it's a brawl or drive-by shooting, all tragic and ridiculous, but this was at a fucking concert, man. It changed everything.

Saw this article on Billboard. Some words from fellow musicians and friends about Dimebag:

https://www.billboard.com/articles/dimebag-darrell/6385925/fellow-rockers-and-friends-remember-dimebag-darrell-on-the-10th?facebook_20141208

“I’ve always said that if he was still alive today, he and I would have buried the hatchet a long time ago, and Pantera absolutely would have continued on and we would have made new records.”
--Phil Anselmo, former Pantera frontman

“When people get interviewed about people who’ve passed away, a lot of times they stretch the truth: They try to make the person sound better than they really were. But he really was a sweetheart of a guy. There’s nothing bad I could say about Dimebag.”
--Ace Frehley, former KISS guitarist