Anyone a fan of Unleash the Archers? Phantoma Out NOW

Started by Samsara, February 27, 2019, 12:10:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DoctorAction

Enjoying Phantoma today. Love the 80s pop rock of Give It Up Or Give It All.

Obvs, I'm completely new to the band but, the way they've shifted the style on this one seems very smart/tasteful to me and impresses me a lot. I get a bunch of subtle 70s vibes too. Even a tiny whiff of ABBA on one track.

cramx3

Quote from: DoctorAction on May 29, 2024, 08:20:51 AM
Enjoying Phantoma today. Love the 80s pop rock of Give It Up Or Give It All.

Obvs, I'm completely new to the band but, the way they've shifted the style on this one seems very smart/tasteful to me and impresses me a lot. I get a bunch of subtle 70s vibes too. Even a tiny whiff of ABBA on one track.

Yeah, there's definitely a shift, especially the back half of the album, but there's still a chunk of "classic' UtA songs that are really good IMO.  I really like the 80s pop rock influences personally, so they kind of hit a nail on the head for my tastes, but those who don't like it, I understand too.

nick_z

Well, this is slowly but surely winning me over. I'm still pretty sure it won't touch Apex/Abyss (also still not loving the production), but it's growing with every listen. And I keep going back to it, which is obviously a good sign. I, too, enjoy the 80s pop rock influence in the songs, so that part is a win for me.

And Give it Up or Give it All is awesome  :) The part starting around 1:30 is melodically so good but, really, the whole song is a gem of melodic rock.

DoctorAction

I could go for a full album like that song. Pure Heart worship. Mix in some more muscular Survivor nods as well and it'd probably be my favourite record of the 21st century!

Glasser

Quote from: DoctorAction on May 30, 2024, 06:27:16 AM