Author Topic: DT's drum sound evolution  (Read 10014 times)

Offline Sycsa

DT's drum sound evolution
« on: May 05, 2014, 05:19:22 AM »
Being a drummer myself, one of the things that drew me to DT was their huge, emblematic drum sound. But what exactly is their signature drum sound and how did it come to be?

It's quite an uncommon feat to find your signature sound on the debut album (out of all the bands I listen to, only ELP managed to pull that off) and the infamously bad production on When Dream and Day Unite hinders that cause even more. MP said that some of his cymbals at the time were really cheap and, indeed, the china at the the beginning of Only a Matter of Time is by far the worst sounding cymbal I've ever heard on a studio recording.

Things drastically improved with Images & Words, it's still one of my favorite DT albums production- and otherwise. As for the drum sound, the snare and the kick were triggered, giving it a very unique, atypical sound. David Prater, the producer claimed that the rookie MP was unable to keep his hits constant and the drumming sounded like a mess, thus he had to trigger it. I have a hard time swallowing that explanation, but I don't mind it too much, the triggered drums enhance the album's unique atmosphere even if MP himself hates them. They replaced the triggered samples on the Greatest hit... release with sounds that resemble a real kit and are closer to MP's taste, but it flat-out doesn't work. The toms weren't triggered, but they have plenty of tone and ring compared to the deeper, more muffled tone which would come later on, thus I think we're still pretty far from the typical DT sound.