Author Topic: My Job will no longer hire smokers. Thoughts?  (Read 12365 times)

Offline Phoenix87x

• From the ashes
  • The Phoenix shall rise
My Job will no longer hire smokers. Thoughts?
« on: March 08, 2014, 07:14:41 PM »
I work in a hospital as a pharmacy student/technician.

For a few years now the hospital's policy was that no smoking was permitted anywhere on the premises, but a couple weeks ago I got a letter in the mail that said flat out that starting March 1st that my hospital and all hospitals within the network would no longer hire "nicotine users" aka smokers.

From March 1st forward an applicant would have to take a drug test and if any trace of nicotine was found in their system, their application would be rejected, and even if hired they would be subject to random drug testing in the future, which if nicotine was found in their system they would be terminated.

As a non-smoker this does't effect me personally, but as far as I'm concerned, what a person does in their own home is their business, especially with a legal substance, but I'm curious to hear everyone's thoughts on this.

(this policy also applies to janitors, grounds keepers, cooks, and maintenance people as well, not just "health care professionals" such as doctors, nurses, ect.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2014, 07:29:08 PM by Phoenix87x »
Living comes much easier
Once we admit
We're dying...

Offline jammindude

• The Jammin Dude Show
Re: My Job will no longer hire smokers. Thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2014, 07:20:30 PM »
As an ex-2 pack a day smoker, I have to say that I'm looking forward to the day when nicotine ISN'T legal....hopefully that will come soon.

I can see where they are coming from.   It's about representing the interests of your trade.   Smoking while you're working for health care is like working for Microsoft and everything you own is a Mac....kindof a conflict of interests. 
"Better the pride that resides in a citizen of the world.