Author Topic: 425's Top 50 Dream Theater Songs v. Singularities  (Read 30209 times)

Offline 425

425's Top 50 Dream Theater Songs v. Singularities
« on: January 04, 2014, 11:06:25 PM »
Okay, I suppose I'll start with a bit of background:
I became a Dream Theater fan a little over a year ago when I got Images and Words. I had Train of Thought a few months prior, but I wasn't a dedicated fan until I got IAW. I've just recently gotten out of the honeymoon phase of listening to Dream Theater almost exclusively, but I'm still one of those people who gets tarred as being a "fanboy," in that I think almost all of DT's songs are good. I really like all different types of Dream Theater songs, and though I came from a metal background, my current leanings are more in a prog direction. So it's not like this list is going to be all one side of DT's catalog. What I really love is music with great melodies and emotional depth (hence: Dream Theater). One other relevant thing about my background is that I am not a musician and have no knowledge of music theory. So when describing songs... I'll try my best, but I may say dumb things.

Okay, this list is going to be formatted like a normal list, you know, #50 then #49 etc. But, here's the thing. I love all of the songs on this list so strongly that they're all very close together. On any given day, for example, #37 and #38 could be switched, or even #26 and #38. I did my best to put it in order, but it's not really a set in stone thing, because I think it's really just impossible for me to come up with a definitive ranking. So before you get all "ZOMG #37 should be higher than #33," realize that those songs are so close in my regard that I probably halfway agree with you already.