Author Topic: 20 years ago today...  (Read 1950 times)

Offline RodrigoAltaf

20 years ago today...
« on: August 28, 2013, 03:22:39 PM »
...Bruce did his final show with Maiden. I watched it on the TV a few hours after it happened in London, and was in absolute shock when I heard he was leaving. Thank God they realized soon enough that Blaze was not a good fit and brought Bruce back.

Back then Maiden was my favourite band, and when Bruce called it quits I was only on my second year in college, 19 years old, and had only seen Maiden once, during the Fear of the Dark Tour.

Was anyone here on the forum at that concert? DT seems to have a younger fanbase than Maiden - did anyone here follow their "break" then, or only me?

By the way, I found the whole footage of his last concert here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ZV1TP_WaJ1E

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Re: 20 years ago today...
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 03:58:30 PM »
I started listen to maiden during 93-94 but wasn't aware what the band was going through at that time. I did follow them during the 90s and remember a friend who saw them live during the xfactor tour. He was shocked to see them play at a venue with a capacity of about 2-3000 and the place wasn't even full. The golden years were clearly over, atleast that's what many thought. Then something amazing happend during 99 that I remember like yesterday... :coolio
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline cramx3

• Chillest of the chill
  • DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2013, 04:08:04 PM »
I didnt become a fan until 2003 and a die hard until 2004 so I didnt experience any of this, but can only imagine how crazy it was. 

Offline TempusVox

• Descendant of Primus
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2013, 04:26:14 PM »