Author Topic: The Perfect Pitch Test  (Read 7877 times)

Offline Lucien

• James 5:1-5
Re: The Perfect Pitch Test
« Reply #35 on: October 13, 2013, 10:45:36 AM »
My computer won't let me play the sounds, but from what it looks like I know I'll get 12/12. Having played the upright bass for 6 years, I know exactly what G, D, A, and E sound like, and I use those 4 notes as reference to find any others.

So I have acquired perfect pitch?  :justjen

You can't acquire true perfect pitch, but you might just have perfect pitch, and have memorized those particular notes. Or maybe you just have a well trained pitch memory.

This seems a bit more likely.
"Kind of a stupid game, isn't it?" - Calvin

Offline Kotowboy

• Yes THAT Kotowboy.
  • DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #36 on: October 13, 2013, 02:15:37 PM »
I know for a fact I don't have perfect pitch but through training I have really good relative pitch.

I started playing guitar aged 15 and learned to play songs by ear.

On my music degree - one of my tutors who had perfect pitch said I had really good hearing for music and I should try and develop it.

Offline rumborak

• DT.net Veteran
« Reply #37 on: October 13, 2013, 06:00:05 PM »
It always struck me that perfect pitch is more of a hindrance than a benefit. It would be like constantly noticing that you didn't start facing north every time you dance.
"I liked when Myung looked like a women's figure skating champion."

Offline BlobVanDam

• Future Boy
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Transform and rock out!
« Reply #38 on: October 13, 2013, 09:07:39 PM »
It always struck me that perfect pitch is more of a hindrance than a benefit. It would be like constantly noticing that you didn't start facing north every time you dance.

It's much more of a pro than a con (once you've trained yourself to utilize it of course), although there are certain situations where it can be a hindrance compared to not having it.