Author Topic: Question about recording guitar  (Read 1578 times)

Offline GasparXR

• Why would I put something personal here?
Question about recording guitar
« on: January 28, 2013, 04:27:51 AM »
Alright so I'm a musician at heart, but I'm hoping to go to college for music production, and I want to get a head start in the recording process. Does someone know what the differences between recording a guitar amp with a mic and using a direct line-in are? I know DT uses mics (or at least JP does), but I also hear from people that it's easier to capture the raw sound of the guitar with a direct-line in.

Offline BlobVanDam

• Future Boy
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Transform and rock out!
Re: Question about recording guitar
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2013, 04:37:46 AM »
I believe proper recordings will always be from a mic'd speaker, because the speaker itself contributes to the sound, as does the mic, and the room etc.
I don't know what it would sound like direct, but you could always try it for the experience.

If you're just messing around with some home recording, I'd probably just record the guitar directly to the computer, and use something like Amplitube to simulate the amp rig (you can get a cut down version for free). It lets you mess around with simulating settings such as amp, cabinet, mic type, mic positions etc. It's not quite as good as the real thing, but it's easier to set up and tweak, and it might give you some insight into setting up the real rig too.
Only King could mis-spell a LETTER.
Yep. I think the only party in the MP/DT situation that hasn't moved on is DTF.

Offline GasparXR

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 05:08:37 AM »
I believe proper recordings will always be from a mic'd speaker, because the speaker itself contributes to the sound, as does the mic, and the room etc.
I don't know what it would sound like direct, but you could always try it for the experience.