Poll

whats the hardest song to play on drums by dream theater?

honor thy father
0 (0%)
the glass prison
5 (15.6%)
this dying soul
0 (0%)
a nightmare to remember
2 (6.3%)
the dance of eternity
25 (78.1%)

Total Members Voted: 30

Author Topic: for drummers, guitarist, and keyboardist: hardest DT song to play?  (Read 13357 times)

Offline caseyavh

first of all im new to this website, ive been listening to dream theater since 2007, its my favorite band and im glad to be a member of this site. DT is my favorite band and ive devoted myself to playing every DT song exactly how mike portnoy (and mike mangini) play them.

anyways, the hardest song for me to play is a fortune in lies. the rudiment at (3:13-3:35) is really difficult to learn (im trying to learn it right now).

thanks DTF!

Offline FlyingBIZKIT

• DTF.org Member
Re: for drummers, guitarist, and keyboardist: hardest DT song to play?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 03:27:46 PM »
Should be in the DT-section or Musicians section but to answer your question, definitely The Dance of Eternity.

Offline philmcson

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 03:32:09 PM »
From the named songs, I'd say Dance of Eternity is definitely the hardest one (based on what patterns I hear in the songs). But I haven't tried to play any one of them. I managed to catch the groove in Build me up, break me down (maybe I should work on improving the footwork a little) and will be covering The root of all evil (one pedal, yay! ) and Wither (bit of messy hihat work but otherwise easy imo).
Now, with you saying you'll be playing every song exactly like them, that's great but hopefully you won't torment yourself memorizing whether they hit the 17" or the 19" crash at *that* particular point. To me, it's more about having fun and catching the groove than looking at drum covers on youtube and trolling like, "but hey, at 0:25 he hits the gong and you've hit the china!!!"  :\

Offline Elite

• The 'other' Rich
  • DTF.org Alumni