Author Topic: A sergeant serving on D-Day answering questions on Reddit.  (Read 863 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
A sergeant serving on D-Day answering questions on Reddit.
« on: December 25, 2012, 03:59:57 PM »
I am Ernest Moore; I served in WW2 as Sergeant under 713 LCPL Mine Sweeping Flotilla and Corporal in the British SBS.

I am his grandson and he is willing to answer absolutely anything about his time in WW2. Please be patient as I answer as many questions as detailed as possible.
https://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/15fd20/i_am_ernest_moore_i_served_in_ww2_as_sergeant/

Fantastic stuff to read.

This question gave me chills and something i always wondered myself:
Can you describe what you were thinking and feeling approaching the battle of D-Day? What was it like to be there and not knowing what would happen to you? It's cool to see vivid re-enactments like movies but nothing beats first hand experience.

SgtErnestMoore
Everything was silent. I was in a boat with fellow British Troops. The American's however, were shouting out threats in an attempt to boost morale. My thoughts were always back home with my family.
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline El Barto

• Rascal Atheistic Pig
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Bad Craziness
Re: A sergeant serving on D-Day answering questions on Reddit.
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2012, 10:22:51 PM »
Good read.  The British mentality towards sucking it up and just doing the shit that needs to be done has always intrigued me.
Argument, the presentation of reasonable views, never makes headway against conviction, and conviction takes no part in argument because it knows.
E.F. Benson

Offline MetalJunkie

• EZBoard Elder
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2012, 10:36:52 PM »