Author Topic: Seven String Help!  (Read 3890 times)

Offline LordxRequiem

Seven String Help!
« on: July 12, 2009, 12:13:06 AM »
Hey guys.  I'm new in the market for seven-strings, and I'm having a bit of a dilemma.  I've narrowed it down to pretty much either the Loomis sig or the C-7 Hellraiser, and I'm kind of looking for a nudge in either direction.  Why would I want one over the other?  I've played both of them, and they seem to feel more or less the same to me.  The couple of selling points I was looking at were:

The Hellraiser has X-Jumbo frets, where as the Loomis merely has Jumbos

The Hellraiser has a dark wood for a fingerboard.  Though I'm not too knowledgeable on woods, I've mostly played dark woods for my entire guitar career, and I'm very partial to my ESP, which has an ebony fretboard.  Why would I want the maple over the rosewood?

Pretty ignorant as to body woods as well, hopefully someone can shed some light on those (i.e. ash vs. mahogany)?

I really like the push-pull coil taps on the Hellraiser.

Price isn't an issue at all for me.  I just want the best guitar I can get.

Lastly, if anyone has a suggestion outside of these two, I'm completely open to that as well, although I'm not looking to go custom shop.  Thanks!

Offline brakkum

• DT.net Member
  • Bass Boy
Re: Seven String Help!
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 12:27:11 AM »
As I always say, just try them yourself. You'll never know for sure between the two unless you actually try them yourself.
https://concertculture.blogspot.com/

https://brakmusic.tumblr.com/

And on the 8th day, God created Dream Theater. God then proceeded to rock out with his cock out.

Offline LordxRequiem

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 01:21:17 AM »
As I said in my first post, I've played them both, and they feel relatively the same.  It's really coming down to just the features.

Offline brakkum

• DT.net Member
  • Bass Boy
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2009, 02:19:05 AM »