Author Topic: Thinking about buying a Keyboard, need some help!  (Read 726 times)

Offline Zantera

• Wolfman's brother
  • DTF.org Member
  • Bouncing around the room
Thinking about buying a Keyboard, need some help!
« on: November 29, 2011, 11:29:58 AM »
Hello musicians of DTF!
I've had this urge for about 2 years now that I really want to start make my own music and also learn to play some of my favorite songs.
While I have played guitar before (and still have one), keyboard seems to appeal to me a bit more, because the whole writing/playing-process is a bit more interesting, and personally I feel like it's easily the instrument that offers the most variety in terms of sound.

But to the problem, I am a complete noob when it comes to instruments, and I have no idea what to look for.
It would be really cool with a multi-keyboard, something that offers a lot of variety, because I think it's awesome when artists and bands use keyboard, and they change some settings, which results in getting keyboard, piano, almost organ-sounding and electronic-type, all from the same keyboard. :p
Also something I could maybe hook up to my computer to get more options and variety, and sorta access what I make easier.

So to some of my newbie questions, is it fun to play? any particular brands or keyboards that you could recommend that would work for my "needs"? prices and such?

Thanks in advance. :)

Offline Dr. DTVT

• DTF's resident Mad Scientist
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • What's your favorite planet? Mine's the Sun!
Re: Thinking about buying a Keyboard, need some help!
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 04:25:13 PM »
Yes, it's fun to play :)

Without knowing what price range you have in mind - and that I don't know what the conversion rate is - here is some good advice for keyboard hunting for a beginner:

1) Full weighted keys, get them.  Don't even question this one.