Author Topic: My problem with Breaking All Illusions  (Read 6239 times)

Offline bosk1

• King of Misdirection
  • Administrator
  • Bow down to Boskaryus
My problem with Breaking All Illusions
« on: September 23, 2011, 09:41:16 AM »
This song has grown on me more than any other in the last week and a half.  It was originally my least favorite song on the album, but there is just so much cool stuff going on that it has grown on me tremendously.  But here's my major issue:  Musically, it builds up to a big, epic ending that just floors you.  But...lyrically, it ends with a whimper.  #1, that last "karma starts the signal" lyric is so hopelessly vague that I don't really have a clear idea what it means.  #2, musically, that epic ending sort of implied that a major point or ultimate resolution is coming, but the lyrics don't do that.  The lyrics just end the song making me feel like something else should be coming, but nothing else does.  I find myself at the end of the song saying, "okay, but...?" as opposed to the triumphant fist-pumping "yeah!" that the music implies.  Do people get what I'm saying?  Anyone else feel that way?

Again, not bashing the song at all.  I really like it a lot.  And I'm usually the last one to hate on DT lyrics, for the most part.  But this song's lyrics just leave me cold, especially the ending lyrics.
"The Supreme Court of the United States has descended from the disciplined legal reasoning of John Marshall and Joseph Story to the mystical aphorisms of the fortune cookie."

Offline BlobVanDam

• Future Boy
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Transform and rock out!
Re: My problem with Breaking All Illusions
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2011, 09:45:11 AM »
Given what I assume from the lyrics, I don't think it's supposed to have an ultimate resolution or definitive ending. I think it's almost supposed to be cyclical, or at least unresolved, hence the last line, and the way the song ends musically.