Author Topic: A discussion between me and my uncle...  (Read 1865 times)

Offline berrege

A discussion between me and my uncle...
« on: August 18, 2011, 02:38:35 PM »
Hello all,

I've got a discussion with my uncle about which music is the most complex and about who are the best musicians (technically with their instrument). All I ask is to fill in this questionnaire:

-Are you a musician? If so, which instrument(s) do you play and for how long?

-Rank the following bands from non-complex to complex:
Yes/Pink Floyd/Transatlantic/Dream Theater

-Rank them from easy to play to hard to play (I know, almost the same question)

-Rank them from good musicians to better musicians (like I said, pure technically with their instrument)

Thanks ;D

Offline Jamesman42

• There you'll find me
  • DT.net Member
  • Spiral OUT
Re: A discussion between me and my uncle...
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 02:44:41 PM »
I'm a musician, but don't know Yes at all to rank them. Guitar for 7 years, bass for 6 years, keyboards for 6 years, all of which were on and off practice-wise, but I would get serious about practicing a lot when I was on.

Complexity (least to greatest)

PF
TA
DT

Easy to hardest

PF
TA
DT

Good to best musicians:

PF
DT = TA

Offline LieLowTheWantedMan

• DTF.org Member
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 02:49:30 PM »
1. I've played guitar for 3 years, violin for 4 years, and harmonica for 8 years.
2. Pink Floyd, Transatlantic, Yes, Dream Theater
3. Same, I guess. Never played Transatlantic, but I think they'd be around the same spot.
4. (I was specific with this one)
Guitar: David, Roine, Steve, John (it's hard to order Steve and John because they both have their specialties, but I went John)
Drums: Nick, Bill, Mike (just barely)
Bass: Roger, John/Pete (I think they're really close in their respective styles), Chris
Keyboards: Richard, Neal, Jordan, Rick
Vocals: Jon, Any PF vocalist, Roine, Neal James