General > General Discussion

Rate my new PC

(1/2) > >>

cramx3:
I recently went on a computer spending spree and ending up buying the following parts for a new build. Since I read a lot about people's computers around here, I figured I'd through my hardware info out there and see what people think.  I purchased my order through tiger direct which allowed me to finance this order with no interest for 18 months which helped me make sure I got what I wanted without worrying about reaching into my savings. So here we go:

CPU: intel core i7-2600k 3.4 ghz. A second generation (sandybridge) i7. Unlocked so you can easily over clock. I have no experience overclocking so at the moment I only plan on using the stock fan, but in the future if I decide to push this CPU, I would need a 3rd party fan.

Mobo: ASUS p8z68-v pro, lga 1155. Uses the new z68 chipset is supposed to be better than the p68 also has sata3 and usb3 for the future. Onboard 8 channel hd audio is nice as well as blue tooth. This mobo is also designed for overclocking.

Ram: 2x 4GB Corsair Vengence ddr3 pc12800.

Graphics card: geforce gtx 460.  Sounded like a good enough card for me.

Hard drive: Ocz 60 GB ssd sata3. This will be my boot drive as well as a few mostly used apps.  I also have a wd 2TB and 1TB from my previous computer to use for data storage. Maybe someone could say if it's worth it to get a second 2TB drove for a raid 0 set up?

Optical drive: LG 12x blu ray burner: I don't care for burning blu rays now, but I do want to have a blu ray player and burn CDs/DVDs so a blue ray burner seemed right. I am debating whether I should keep my old samsung 48x DVD/cd burner to make copies with two drives.

Power supply: 600w modular ps. I like it being modular to keep my case clean.

Case: azza czas 1000solano 1000. A full siZed tower that looks pretty good.

Nvidia 3d setup with glasses: for 3G gaming and blu rays

Monitor: acer gd235hz 24 inch 1080p 3d LCD.

FlyingBIZKIT:
That's very nice

Scrub206: