Author Topic: Why do you like Dream Theater? (And Progessive Rock/Metal in general)  (Read 11240 times)

Offline Vajra

The obvious answer is because "The music sounds good" but my question is, what is it about DT and the Prog Rock genre's music that draws you to it?

For me, the sound has a very unique, creative, and emotional edge. It doesn't just sound like some songs that were written for the sake of being catchy, they instead sound like a real piece of art (snobishness aside). With DT and prog, there's so much work and effort put into the songs, and it's just amazing to listen to it all. The genre never fails to deliver many different sounds, whether it be mellow, operatic, classical, etc, it's just fantastic.

Another reason would be, (no suprise here) I love long, complex structured songs. My favorite part about listening to music is when I have a chance to really embark on a musical voyage, and DT/Prog always provides it. I'm a very big fan of literature and film, so I'm naturally drawn to story-like songs.

And finally, for metal particularly, the power. The type of power and aggression you get from songs like The Glass Prison, or The Count of Tuscany is just incredible. I'm not an angry person in the slightest, but I'm really drawn to agression and power, things that I can head bang and go crazy to.

What about you guys?

Offline Zook

• Evil Incarnate
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Take My Hand
The melodies, the metal, the non-metal, the rock, the melodies, the melodies, the melodies (lol dream theatre doesn't have melodies) the instrumental jams, THEY R TEH AWSUM! That goes for all the Prog bands I listen to. Not just DT.

Offline Adami

• Moderator of awesomeness
Because I think for the most part they write good and interesting songs.
fanticide.bandcamp.com

Offline Jamesman42

• There you'll find me
  • DT.net Member
  • Spiral OUT

This. The genre gives the band room to write a good variety as well. They mostly do well.

Offline Vajra