Author Topic: Atheism Saved My Life  (Read 23046 times)

Offline tjanuranus

Atheism Saved My Life
« on: May 13, 2011, 01:50:23 AM »
I know the Title of this thread might be controversial to some but to me it's a serious matter. This isn't for people to have a debate about religion it's so i can share my story so if someone is going through something similar they might not feel alone. Maybe this will help someone break through a depression. If that happens i'll be very happy!

I was raised in an evangelical Christian household. When i was in 7th grade i transferred to a christian private school and attended until i graduated. I went to church twice on sunday mornings and sunday night. Youth band practice on monday nights, service on wednesday nights and youth group stuff on friday nights. Also went on many church and youth retreats. I had christian school five times a week, religion class every day and a church service at school once a week. I had to memorize a bible verse every day for my parents and recite it at the dinner table. I know more about the bible than most christians i know. With all that said, at the age of 23 i attempted suicide...

This isn't easy for me to talk about because i don't share this with many people but I feel like i'm slowly getting to know some of you and like i said i think this might be important for someone to hear. Also maybe writing about it might be good for me as well.