Author Topic: Anyone here feel like giving career advice?  (Read 2203 times)

Online lordxizor

• EZBoard Elder
  • and that is the truth.
Anyone here feel like giving career advice?
« on: April 06, 2011, 06:55:08 AM »
My boss thinks I should apply for an open Production Manager position at my company and I need to make a quick decision. I've never been sure about whether or not I want to be a manager. Part of me wants to just for the career benefits and the money, but part of me isn't sure if it would really play to my strengths. I'd be directly in charge of several people and basically in charge of a couple hundred production people, though wouldn't directly interact with them much. It seems like a very large leap into management. For reference, I'm currently an process engineer that supports production and have never directly managed anyone, but have lead project teams and basically supervised technicians before.

I basically feel like if I don't apply for this, my boss will not think I'm looking to better my career and may not ever get an opportunity like this again. But with a second child on the way, I'm not sure that I want to have the extra responsibility and the extra time required at work. There's no guarantee I'd get it if I applied, so this is strictly just applying, but this company considers inside hires higher than going outside.

Those of you in management roles: do you like it? Is it difficult managing people? Any thoughts or insights you could share with me?
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 01:35:28 PM by lordxizor »

Offline King Postwhore

• Couch Potato
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Take that Beethoven, you deaf bastard!!
Re: Anyone here in management?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2011, 07:01:42 AM »
I've been in charge of 40 people and I think it would be a nice notch on your resume.  I would bring up your concerns to your boss with the second child on the way.  It's show commitment to your family and he's be honest with you.