Author Topic: Learning the Blues v. Halp  (Read 4171 times)

Offline lateralus88

• The Official DTF Stanley Kubrick Fanboi
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • I stabbed Euronymous because he drank my PBR
Learning the Blues v. Halp
« on: February 22, 2011, 09:44:37 PM »
So, I've been playing for a little under two years now, and have lately been picking up on the blues fairly slowly. I know the major and minor pentatonic scales fairly decently, and a small amount of chord shapes (I've also come up with a few riffs/licks on my own that are fairly simple and general that I play quite a bit.)

I'm making this thread because I was wondering if anyone could throw me a few tips for a better understanding of the blues and learning to play properly (from a beginners perspective). Anything from exercises, chord shapes, tutorials, etc. would be most appreciated. Thanks.
I felt its length in quite a few places.

Awesome Majesty Pendant Club: Member #3

Offline cthrubuoy

• DTF.org Member
Re: Learning the Blues v. Halp
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2011, 02:58:45 AM »
Take the A minor pentatonic scale

Code: [Select]
|---------------------------------5--8----
|--------------------------5--8-----------
|-------------------5--7------------------
|-------------5--7------------------------
|------5--7-------------------------------
|-5-8-------------------------------------

Add in an Eb

|-------------------------------------5--8--
|-------------------------------5--8--------
|---------------------5--7--8---------------
|---------------5-7-------------------------
|-------5-6-7-------------------------------
|-5-8---------------------------------------

Let the blues flow.

Offline jsem

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2011, 08:44:33 AM »
I LOVE the blues. In all forms.

Basically, what you want to do, is put a backing track on. And just play. You'll find out yourself what notes will fit and what not, in the different blues styles.

Offline Marvellous G