Author Topic: Guitar rackmount effects and setups  (Read 7163 times)

Offline wolfking

• DTF.org Alumni
Guitar rackmount effects and setups
« on: February 21, 2011, 01:55:24 PM »
Hi fellow musicians,

I have been playing guitar for about 12 years, I've had a break the last 4 or so years due to work schedule but I'm looking to get back into it.  I have always been a n00b when it comes to equipment and frankly I never explored tone and setup possibilities and always just stuck with straight solid state amps and a couple of effect pedals, just because of pure laziness.

I have never been pleased with my tone, especially because I use to play live here and there doing cover material.  I'm actually sick of amp sounds and really want to explore rackmountable equipment and guitar effects because obviously, what pro guitarists do you just see using an amp and pedal.

So my question is, how do they work, do they act as a processor and have effects and distortion etc. built into them.  And do you plug them through a normal clean channel amp or the pa, and what's the best setup to use for a simple n00b like me?  They seem to have a more professional, polished and digital sound which I think I want to explore, I'm just sick of the normal amp crunch and when playing various types of music, sometimes it just doesn't cut it, I want something more modern and versitile.

I know I have just proven how much of a novice I am with epuipment but any assistance would be great.  What do you guys prefer?
Everyone else, except Wolfking is wrong.

Offline Kornflake

Re: Guitar rackmount effects and setups
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2011, 09:05:48 PM »