Author Topic: Orchestral moments in metal music  (Read 1140 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Orchestral moments in metal music
« on: April 15, 2023, 12:32:36 PM »
I thought about this subject the other day. I'm not sure a similar thread exist if so, merge or delete this.

So we all know that classical music and metal music works so great together or in conjunction. So many examples of bands using an orchestra to enhance their musical ideas either by using sections with strings or a full blown orchestra.

What's your favourite moment/s when those two worlds just aligns so perfectly?

It dosen't have to be pure Symphonic metal it can just be an intro, a section in a song, a whole song, or even an album or whatever.

For me i'm always drawn to when it's real musicians that plays though and not programmed music like some bands do which of course probably is for financial reasons.

Here's some on the top of my head, most of these are intros though.

Xibir - Dimmu Borgir
Sounds Of Pre-existence - Darkane
Amnesia Of The Wildoerian Apocalypse - Darkane
Themes and Variations in D-Minor - In Flames (More a tribute though but it's so well done)
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Online twosuitsluke

• Dovie'andi se tovya sagain
Re: Orchestral moments in metal music
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2023, 12:35:25 PM »
Ho boy, I am all about this style. I'll post some of my favourites soon.

Offline Stadler

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Pointing out the "unfunny" since 2014!
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2023, 12:45:27 PM »
It's a shitty song, but I love the way Bob Ezrin folded in Beethoven's Pathetique Piano Sonata into Kiss's "Great Expectations".  Not kidding.

Online TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Arthritic Metal Horns
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2023, 05:27:47 PM »