Author Topic: It's late and the mind is running (Denver vs. Jersey Pt. 1)  (Read 4634 times)

Offline bout to crash

• Admiral Jackbar
  • DT.net Veteran
  • Instant Erection!
It's late and the mind is running (Denver vs. Jersey Pt. 1)
« on: December 06, 2010, 01:24:09 AM »
This will be long  :-[

For those who don't know: I'm a social work intern for a hospice right now. I'm graduating from my MSW program in the spring (May/June).

So tonight I went to the office holiday party and my supervisor informed me that one of the three paid social workers just handed in his notice. He's leaving in six weeks to go back to Chicago... so, she said, I will be getting a lot more patients when I return from my vacation (I only have four now, one of them recently died and I'm an intern so they started me off slow... my supervisor, I'm pretty sure, has 20+).

Well, not only does this mean more patients for me, but it also increases the possibility of my being hired when my internship is done (I'm the only intern who does this job). Both my supervisor and the third social worker on staff started as interns in my program. I figured I had no chance since there were three of them already and people have been laid off in the past. However, this changes things a lot. Two social workers cannot adequately handle 70ish patients. Since I have proved myself as pretty competent so far, I doubt they will go looking for another social worker now (I'm free labor)... but come June, there is a strong possibility they could offer me a job.

So, on one hand this is awesome because I like this job a lot and I also like the possibility of not having to search for another one in a few months. However, it brings to the forefront another issue that's been on my mind lately: staying in Denver versus going back east when I graduate.