Author Topic: [Music] Dream Theater - Black Clouds & Silver Linings  (Read 3959 times)

Offline antigoon

• Not Elvis
  • DT.net Veteran
  • This was a triumph.
[Music] Dream Theater - Black Clouds & Silver Linings
« on: June 22, 2009, 10:31:41 AM »
Here's my short review of DT's latest. Don't go too hard on me, I'm a terrible writer and this is my first review :)

Black Clouds & Silver Linings, Dream Theater's tenth full-length studio album, is a worthy addition to any Dream Theater fan's collection...Well, almost. People looking for a reinvention of the Dream Theater sound won't find that here. What they will find is a very strong refinement of the modern Dream Theater sound. The album is full of memorable vocal melodies and harmonies (two things that were sorely lacking on Systematic Chaos), and although there are extended instrumental passages in nearly every song, they seem to fit and hold the listener's attention more so than the ones on the band's previous effort. However, while the music has drastically improved on Black Clouds & Silver Linings, the quality of the lyrics has resumed its steady decline. Entertaining at their best (the tongue-in-cheek The Count of Tuscany), and cringe worthy at their worst (Mike Portnoy's otherwise touching tribute to his father, The Best of Times), the lyrics detract from the otherwise very good songwriting far too often.

Individually, the main members of the band absolutely shine on this record. John Petrucci has written some of the best solos of his entire career for the songs The Best of Times and The Count of Tuscany, and Jordan Rudess, often criticized for his overplaying adds tasteful atmosphere and texture to every song. This isn't  to say this album is absent of the trappings of the modern Dream Theater instrumental section – it is full of them; but the band seems to have improved at making those instrumental sections more memorable and interesting this time around.