Author Topic: Do I need to adjust my truss rod?  (Read 7939 times)

Offline Kornflake

Do I need to adjust my truss rod?
« on: August 17, 2010, 02:53:31 PM »
Hey guys.  Sorry for asking so many questions here but I figured the DT fan base would likely know more about this sort of thing than any of my friends as I would consider myself the most musically inclined.  If I don't know it, neither do my friends....
Anyways...I've been playing guitar for about 15 years or so, but don't really know too much about maintenance other than things like how to change strings and adjust intonation.
I know that the truss rod adjusts the amount of bow to the neck of a guitar, but how often should I be adjusting this?  Should I even bother to adjust it?  How do I know how tight/loose to make it?  I know I use heavier strings than the ones that came on my guitars when I got them so I assume that I should probably consider an adjustment....
Thanks in advance for the help.

Offline Sir GuitarCozmo

• Official Forum Sous Chef and broler5
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Kelly Clarkson BEEFS
Re: Do I need to adjust my truss rod?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 08:30:36 PM »
Generally messing with the truss rod is something you should not do yourself.  If you aren't noticing any discernible difference in the neck's feel over time, then I'd probably not worry with it.  If you have any doubts or concerns, take it to your local guitar shop and have them check it out.  Most people assume you can turn it a bunch and have an instantly better neck feel and that can mess it up big time.  Truss rods require VERY slight adjustments (when they DO need them) and time for that adjustment to "sit" for a while, before re-checking it.

Offline ClairvoyantCat

• DT is no longer Majesty.
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2010, 09:13:37 PM »
Um.... only adjust it if something seems wrong with it.  Many guitars have more sensitive truss rods than others.  If nothing feels wrong, nothing is wrong, most likely...