Author Topic: Help with guitar chops and especially musicality  (Read 2693 times)

Offline Manolito Mystiq

Help with guitar chops and especially musicality
« on: July 26, 2010, 06:31:23 AM »
My life routine, goals, and everything has quite changed back from around 2000 onwards, when I was so fascinated by music, that I wanted to play an instrument of my own. I picked up guitar, and progressed fast in terms of understanding terminology, technique, chords, notation, etc. At some jamsessions, several years later, co-jammers noted that I was pretty clean and pretty tight rhythmically, however, I couldn't do a lot more than some Hetfield rhythm guitar. I improvised on what I could do, and that did give pretty decent results as far as I can remember. The more I progressed in understanding music theory, scales, etc., however, the more mechanical I became.

I'm a walking analyser. A lot of my soul, my heart doesn't seem to be there when playing. I studied Flamenco Guitar for four years at the Conservatory, where I learned even more technique, and music theory. However, I feel I just don't improve the good way. It's the reason why I failed at the last exam, and had to leave the school. There definitely is passion and dedication, but it's not getting out. I constantly seem to collect information, and information like a sponge, and try to understand the why, even while playing. To make things worse, my timing is quite bad now. The times that I don't care about that, I'm amazed at the freedom and the superior execution of my playing.

Now, I'm done with the Conservatory, not knowing what to do after. Currently I'm working, and I noticed that I'm pretty disciplined at the gym. Now that I think I can maintain that, I want to start from scratch with guitar. But, I don't know where to start.

I really want to empty my mind, just do, without the analyzing part, I'm fed up with that.

What do you do? How does your practicing schedule look like?