Author Topic: KEYBOARDRAUT! (Nothing to do with KrotchRaut...)  (Read 1571 times)

Offline CountVoorhees

• DTF.org Member
KEYBOARDRAUT! (Nothing to do with KrotchRaut...)
« on: July 14, 2010, 03:59:13 PM »
I recently started playing keyboard, just messing around and stuff, but I'd like to actually learn how.

Any advice for a keyboard noob? Like the dos and don'ts, good practice methods, etc.

Online Adami

• Moderator of awesomeness
Re: KEYBOARDRAUT! (Nothing to do with KrotchRaut...)
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2010, 04:13:32 PM »
Watch Jordan Ruddess play a solo and play it the way he did.
fanticide.bandcamp.com

Offline CountVoorhees

• DTF.org Member
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2010, 04:25:27 PM »
Thanks man, I'll go do that now and become a wizard just like him.

Offline ScioPath

• the king of dance
  • DTF.org Member
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2010, 08:54:22 PM »
I'd say the most important thing is to relax while playing. Also, it helps to have an understanding of music theory.

Offline CountVoorhees

• DTF.org Member
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2010, 11:44:33 PM »
The relax thing REALLY helped me and I understand some music theory (I think) from playing trumpet and other musical instruments in middle and high school band.

AND...

I just learned most of The Origins of Ruin (song) and the intro of Black and White World by Redemption.

I've also learned a couple songs from the Silent Hill series soundtrack.

I'm really enjoying playing keyboard, something I've never really done with any of the other instruments I've played.

Offline Orbert

• Recovering Musician
  • EZBoard Elder
  • In and around the lake
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2010, 12:15:35 PM »
Understand your role in the band.  If you're in a rock and roll band, regardless of subgenre, chances are your role is that of "support".  You will hopefully get your moments to stand out, maybe even take a solo, but accept the fact that the singer(s) and guitarist(s) will get the spotlight, glory, and blowjobs.