Author Topic: Is it ever too late to learn to play an instrument?  (Read 1335 times)

Offline Mitch555

Is it ever too late to learn to play an instrument?
« on: February 08, 2010, 06:59:57 PM »
Hey everyone,

I'm an 18 year old student and I've been getting very bored these days, and I've decided that learning to play Bass would be a pretty good thing to do. Problem is, last time I played an instrument was in 9th grade where I took piano lessons for a year, so I know nothing about string-based instruments.

Is it simply ''too late'' to learn or is there still hope? Keep in mind that I don't want to play ''seriously''. Just want to play bass as a hobby, as I've always found bass guitar and bassists in general to be cool.

Also, if you could suggest some good guides to teach me about the basics, I'd really appreciate that.

:millahhhh

Offline Sigz

• BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD
  • DTF.org Member
  • THRONES FOR THE THRONE SKULL
Re: Is it ever too late to learn to play an instrument?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 07:09:06 PM »
It's never too late to learn. I mean, the odds of becoming the next John Myung are much smaller now, but you're totally able to learn just for fun.
The world is a stage, but the play is badly cast.

Offline robwebster

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 07:38:56 PM »
Pah, JM only started at 14! 18's plenty young enough. You're putty! Practically a foetus! Not many people become prodigies in their teens, it's a clever time to lay down some groundwork but you can catch up four years no prob. People learn at different rates anyway. Won't be too late till you're well into your sixties.

And even then you could still get somewhere!

Offline brakkum

• DT.net Member
  • Bass Boy
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2010, 07:53:38 PM »
Nah, as long as you have a genuine interest and don't get too cocky about it or get too frustrated about it.
https://concertculture.blogspot.com/

https://brakmusic.tumblr.com/