Author Topic: Special uses for Dream Theater songs?  (Read 4737 times)

Offline Jaffa

• Just Jaffa
  • DTF.org Alumni
Special uses for Dream Theater songs?
« on: July 18, 2011, 01:02:43 PM »
There’s a thread called running to Octavarium about someone who liked to listen to that song while they were running.  It just got me to thinking: are there any Dream Theater songs you use for specific things?  For instance:

6:00 – not that big a fan of the song in general, but it serves as a great alarm clock. 

Constant Motion – again, don’t LOVE the song, but I love to exercise to it.

A Change of Seasons – I’m a writer, and this is the best song I’ve EVER found for creative inspiration while I’m writing.

The Ministry of Lost Souls/In the Presence of Enemies pt 2:  When I’m having trouble getting to sleep, I’ll often grab Systematic Chaos and start it on track 7, and I’ll usually be asleep before ITPOE2’s over.  I don’t find those songs boring at all, but they have a relaxing effect on me.

Take the Time: my ultimate motivational/inspirational song.  Gets me pumped and ready for just about anything. 

Anybody else have any songs they have special uses for?
Sincerely,
Jaffa

Offline alirocker08

• Apparently not a hobbit
  • 'Sup, I'm a very short elf
Re: Special uses for Dream Theater songs?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2011, 01:05:42 PM »
Whenever I need a bit of a motivator to let it all out, I normally whack on Vacant.

Other than that, I just use DT songs to sing along to...Badly.
ITT: We discover that Alice is elvish...
Psshh, your status as a hobbit has just been a cover. Your cover has been blown.

Offline bosk1

• King of Misdirection
  • Administrator
  • Bow down to Boskaryus
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2011, 01:07:12 PM »
6:00 – not that big a fan of the song in general, but it serves as a great alarm clock.