Author Topic: Crisis averted -- for now  (Read 1580 times)

Offline Orbert

• Recovering Musician
  • EZBoard Elder
  • In and around the lake
Crisis averted -- for now
« on: March 27, 2018, 09:32:02 PM »
40 years ago, computers still filled rooms, or at least took up a wall or two.  I was in junior high school.

30 years ago, I was taking Computer Science classes at the community college.  Yeah, I know, you can do the math.

20 years ago, I was a programmer at a major airline.

10 years ago, I was in the position I am now, on a team of 8 programmers doing ad-hoc programming.

5 years ago, things had shifted to primarily production programming, more stable, but less work overall and the team was down to five.

1 year ago, with most of the work being sent offshore, we were down to three of us plus a contractor.  His contract is up at the end of April.

3 days ago, the other two full-time employees were let go, their positions "eliminated".  I am the last man standing, or will be at the end of April.

Yesterday were the first two of what will be many meetings outlining the various projects which my two coworkers supported.  The contractor and I will take them on for now, on top of everything else we're already doing.  Some of the workload will be shifted to another group.  How much is shifted to the other group is not known at this point.  But eventually I'll be the only programmer and there's also Karl the big ugly guy on the other side of the wall from me who bugs the shit out of me but will be my last remaining teammate.

He's not a regular progammer; his specialty is "automation".  He's not going anywhere.  My intention is to not go anywhere, either.