Author Topic: How to go from listening to loving  (Read 1304 times)

Offline Beryl1803

How to go from listening to loving
« on: January 16, 2018, 12:49:53 PM »
I'm really a newbie , who started listening to dream theater for nearly a year, Most of the music hasn't really sunk in, so I would love suggestions on how I could start loving and enjoying and understanding this form of music . I listen to a lot of normal modern pop songs as well, which kinda interests me, but I really want to get into this genre of music cause I know its the best! Pls give me tips on how and what songs I could listen to before going into dream theater (pa. I've tried the genesis platinum collection - didn't help much) . i did like remarkably human - by nick johnston - (I found that it was of prog genre) - so if that helps ,
Also how much time would it take for you to start lovingthis genre?
Please Help Me !!

Offline Train of Naught

• I sympathize, with a cockroach
  • .....and a cockroach
Re: How to go from listening to loving
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2018, 12:57:05 PM »
Took me a handful of Dream Theater songs to find out I love that rewarding feeling with music when it grows on you. You give it some more listens and certain elements start popping out. I would say at least a third up to half the music I listen to occasionally is prog. I like it when bands push the boundaries of the confines of the genre they're in, I like them trying out unique concepts by combining instruments/techniques you normally wouldn't see people try out.

If you like Nick Johnston you're bound to like at least some of these names with between brackets recommended albums:

David Maxim Micic (ECO)
Plini (Handmade Cities)
Intervals (The Way Forward)
Sean Ashe (Flux)
Lechuga (Lechuga)

Can't speak for Genesis cause I don't really like what I've heard so far (the album that has Firth of Filth on it, even though I do actually like that particular song)